You are abbout to reset your password. Please fill in your email address and an email with further instructions will be sent to you.

Big Irish team head for Arlington

Beach Patrol

Aidan O'Brien, Joseph O'Brien, Michael Halford and Dermot Weld all have runners in the Grade 1s on Saturday

Aidan O’Brien will send a team of four runners for the big Arlington meeting in Chicago on Saturday with Deauville representing him in the 36th running of the Arlington Million. The Fitri Hay-owned colt finished third last year.

Athena, already a Grade 1 winner stateside this year will run in the Beverly D while he will be doubly represented in the Grade 1 Secretariat Stakes with Hunting Horn and Lucius Tiberius. He won the race in 2015 with Highland Reel and Taj Mahal finished second last season.

There will be five Irish-trained runners in the Secretariat with Michael Halford represented by Gallinule Stakes winner Platinum Warrior in the Grade 1 Secretariat, the mount of Joel Rosario. Dermot Weld sends Bandua (William Buick) who also finished behind Latrobe in the Irish Derby and Ming, a winner at Navan and Gowran Park, will represent Joseph O’Brien with Billy Lee on board.

The 36th Arlington Million field is headed by last year’s Secretariat winner Oscar Performance trained by Brian Lynch.

There are two other European runners in Circus Couture trained by Jane Chapple-Hyam and to be ridden by John Egan while Simon Crisford’s Century Dream will be the mount of William Buick.

Chad Brown is responsible for four runners in the fillies Grade 1 including recent Saratoga Grade 1 winner Sistercharlie. Mark Johnston sends over German 1000 Guineas winner Nyaleti who will be ridden by Silvestre de Sousa


1 Circus Couture (IRE) Jane Chapple-Hyam John Egan

2 Spring Quality Edgar Prado

3 Almanaar (GB) Joel Rosario

4 Divisidero Jevian Toledo

5 Century Dream (IRE) Simon Crisford William Buick

6 Catcho En Die (ARG) Jose Valdivia

7 Twenty Four Seven Chris Emigh

8 Money Multiplier John Velazquez

9 Deauville (IRE) Aidan O’Brien Ryan Moore

10 Robert Bruce (CHI) Irad Ortiz

11 Oscar Performance Jose Ortiz


1 Daddys Lil Darling Brian Hernandez

2 Nyaleti (IRE) Mark Johnston Silvestre de Sousa

3 Sistercharlie (IRE) John Velazquez

4 Dona Bruja (ARG) Jose Valdivia

5 Thais (FR) Florent Geroux

6 Oh So Terrible Sophie Doyle

7 Fourstar Crook Irad Ortix

8 Inflexibility Joel Rosario

9 Athena (IRE) Aidan O’Brien Ryan Moore


1 Real Story Jose Valdivia

2 Platinum Warrior (IRE) Michael Halford Joel Rosario

3 Bandua Dermot Weld William Buick

4 Carrick John Velazquez

5 Pont Du Gard Mitchel Murrill

6 Ming (IRE) Joseph O’Brien Billy Lee

7 Captivating Moon Florent Geroux

8 Untamed Domain Irad Ortiz

9 Analyze It Jose Ortiz

10 Sniper Kitten Brian Hernandez

11 Dubby Dubbie Jack Gilligan

12 Lucius Tiberius (IRE) Aidan O’Brien Wayne Lordan

13 Hunting Horn (IRE) Aidan O’Brien Ryan Moore

By Anne Marie Duff on 08 August 2018

More from The Sports Page of Tomorrow - DailySpread.com